Case Memorial Library
About Us
Catalog
Calendar
Collection
Art
Books
Research Guides
Databases
Children's
Teen
Library Commission
Friends
Community Links
Case Memorial Library
176 Tyler City Road
Orange, Connecticut 06477
Phone: (203) 891-2170
Fax: (203) 891-2190

Databases


iCONN (The Connecticut Digital Library)

Search thousands of popular magazines and scholarly journals, many with full text. iCONN databases also include newspaper articles, business information on over 450,000 companies, health and wellness information, and much more. You may use the links below to connect directly to a few of our favorite databases. To connect from home, you need to enter the 14-digit barcode number from your library card. Visit our Resources for Kids page for links to databases designed specifically for younger students.

InfoAnytime logo

InfoAnytime is a free online question-answering service supported by the Case Memorial Library and other Connecticut libraries, available any time of the day or night. It connects you to a live reference librarian specially trained to draw on the iCONN databases in answering your question. Click here to use InfoAnytime!

Business & Company Resource Center
Search or browse by companies or industries (both NIACS and SIC codes are listed), or search for articles in business magazines and journals. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, products and brands, stock prices, investment reports, industry statistics, consumer marketing data, and much more.

Health and Wellness Resource Center
Includes magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories and information on topics such as:  fitness, pregnancy, nutrition, diseases, alcohol and drug abuse, prescription drugs, herbal remedies and alternative treatments. Includes links to diet, cancer, and health assessment sites as well as government databases.

Heritage Quest
Heritage Quest has become America's largest genealogical information provider, with over 250,000 source documents, including federal census records. Rich with demographic and genealogical detail, the collection contains personal data such as education, place of birth, language, occupation, veteran status.  Includes images.

History Reference Center
For history buffs, class projects, and assignments, this is the first place to look. Provides articles from magazines, journals, and books; biographies, documents, and speeches; and maps and photographs. Also includes film and video clips of social, political, and cultural historical events from 1893 onward. Recommended for high school students and up.

iCONN Newsstand (Proquest)
Full-text coverage of: Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, L.A. Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal & Washington Post.

Informe
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias.

Infotrac One File
Suitable for researchers at all levels, One File contains over 4,900 full-text titles, including: newspapers; general interest magazines; refereed academic journals; business publications; technology periodicals; plus specialty titles in law, health care and computers.

Science Reference Center
Start here for science projects and research needs. Provides articles from scientific reference books, magazines, and journals, plus biographies and images. Topics covered include biology, chemistry, earth and space science, environmental science, health and medicine, physics, technology, and wildlife. Recommended for high school students and up.

Student Research Center
A student-friendly version of the History and Science Reference Centers that provides the same high-quality content. Choose content sources (Magazines, Newspapers, Biographies, Country Reports, Film & Video), browse by topic headings, use an online dictionary and encyclopedia, explore top searches of the day, and limit searches according to reading levels. Recommended for middle school students and up.

What Do I Read Next?
Includes over 100,000 recommended titles, more than 58,000 plot summaries, and awards information from 562 awards. The monthly highlights page reviews selections of award winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects each month.

Wilson Biographies Plus
Profiles of famous people from antiquity to the present. Over 120,000 substantial profiles, many including images, as well as links to full-text articles, abstracts, book review excerpts, and more. A variety of search options allow users to look up people by name, profession, place of origin, gender, ethnicity, birth/death dates, titles of works, and keyword.

 



Webmaster: Jonathan Wiener